Home > Articles > Operating Systems > Microsoft Windows Desktop

This chapter is from the book

This chapter is from the book

Deleting and Restoring Files and Folders

When you organize the contents of a folder, disk, or the desktop, you might find files and folders that you no longer need. You can delete these items or remove them permanently. If you delete a file or folder from the desktop or from the hard disk, it goes into the Recycle Bin. The Recycle Bin, located on your desktop, is a temporary storage area for deleted files. The Recycle Bin stores all the items you delete from your hard disk so that if you accidentally delete an item, you can remove it from the Recycle Bin to restore it. Be aware that if you delete a file from a removable disk or use the Permanently delete command, it is permanently deleted, not stored in the Recycle Bin. The files in the Recycle Bin do occupy room on your PC computer, so you need to empty it to free up space.

Delete Files and Folders

  • yellow_1.jpg In the desktop, click or tap the File Explorer button on the taskbar.
  • yellow_2.jpg Select the files and folders you want to delete.
  • yellow_3.jpg Click or tap the Delete button arrow on the Home tab, and then click Recycle or Permanently delete.

  • yellow_4.jpg If prompted, click or tap Yes to confirm the deletion and place the items in the Recycle Bin.

    • Enable delete confirmation. Click or tap the Delete button arrow on the Home tab, and then click or tap Show recycle confirmation.
  • yellow_5.jpg In the desktop, right-click or tap-hold the Recycle Bin icon, and then click or tap Empty Recycle Bin.

Your device permanently removes the items.

Restore Files and Folders

  • yellow_1.jpg In the desktop, double-click or double-tap the Recycle Bin icon on the desktop.
  • yellow_2.jpg Select the item or items you want to restore.
  • yellow_3.jpg Click or tap the Restore this item or Restore all items button on the Manage tab.

    • Empty Recycle Bin. Click or tap the Empty Recycle Bin button on the Manage tab, and then click or tap Yes to confirm.
  • yellow_4.jpg If prompted, click or tap Yes to confirm the restore or click or tap No to cancel it.
  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account