Collaboration with OneNote 2010: Research, Write, and Collaborate Using OneNote 2010's Sharing Features
OneNote is a program that allows you to track information using the familiar notebook metaphor. Instead of tracking your ideas and information on scraps of paper, in multiple electronic documents, and in your head, you can use OneNote to organize related information in one place.
This information can be in a variety of formats: content that you author, other files, content from the Web, video, or audio. The best thing about tracking this information electronically is what you can do with it. You can tag it, you can search it, and, best of all, you can share it.
Previous versions of OneNote offer the ability to share notebooks, but the recent release of OneNote 2010 takes collaboration to a whole new level.
In this article, I'll give you a tour of the new collaboration features and improvements in OneNote 2010. I'll show you how you can implement OneNote to work with others using the scenario of two people who are in different locations but working together on a screenplay. You'll learn how to create a shared notebook and host it on a network.
My goal is to give you the tools that you need to start sharing notebooks and collaborating on your own projects using OneNote.
Ready: New Sharing Features
- Multiple users can access a OneNote notebook and edit it simultaneously.
- When a notebook is shared, each author is identified by a color-coded bar and the author's initials (although I find it easier to put the author name in the initials field).
- When you read a shared notebook, you can see when changes were made and who made them.
- You can search for information by author.
- As you edit a notebook, the data is automatically synchronized so changes can be seen by others almost as soon as they are made. You can specify whether the notebook should be synchronized automatically or whether you want to work offline and explicitly synchronize your data.
- You can see content that was most recently added in the last day, week, month, and so on.
- The merge feature lets you merge sections of a shared notebook. This comes into play when you have multiple users editing a single section.
- Page versioning allows you to see each version of a page, including the changes that were made to it, the date of the version, and who made the changes. You can see an historical list showing each version of a page and the changes that were made.